Stone Sublimely Self-Righteous & Delirium Tremens Reviews

Posted: May 16, 2011 in Beer Reviews
Tags: , , ,

Friday night was the first BBQ of the 2011 BBQ season. I headed out to Long Island to slam a couple of burgers and try some good beer. My choice for the evening was Stone Sublimely Self Righteous. I have been becoming more and more of a fan of the Stone beers, having tried their IPA, Arrogant Bastard, and Double Bastard beers. Stopping by my favorite beer distributor, Skibbos in Throgg’s Neck, I decided to pick up a 22 oz . bottle of the Stone Sublimely Self Righteous. The bottle alone, as usual with Stone’s beer, was awesome. Their mascot seems to be a big gargoyle/devil looking character, straight out of Disney’s Fantasia. Extremely eye catching, but is the beer any good? All signs point to ‘yes.’

The first thing I notice when I pour the beer is the very dark color and thick head. Almost looks like a stout along the lines of Guinness. The comparisons stop there, however. I realize this is no Stout upon smell. I can tell this is going to be a very hoppy beer on first smell, and on first taste I was right. The beer tasted very hoppy but not at all bitter. I admit that my beer tasting skills have not yet been honed to perfection. I can not pick out every little detail and ingredient on tongue alone. I can tell you that it was a delicious and smooth beer. Towards the end I began to taste a little bit of chocolate. Maybe Self-Righteous does share more similarities to a Stout than originally thought. Overall, I loved this beer and will be buying more in the future. I will be on the lookout for this one on tap as well, as I’d imagine, like any other beer on tap, it would be better than in the bottle.

Following the BBQ dinner, a group of us decided to stop by a local restaurant/bar, Major’s Steakhouse in East Meadow. I’ve been here before, both for dinner and just drinks. The bar itself is great. It has a very ‘Cheers’-like atmosphere where, at risk of sounding cliche, everyone knows your name (ok, maybe not MY name. I don’t go that often. However, everyone knew everyone else’s name at the bar). My friends all pretty much wanted to stop in for the Pineapple Vodka. I didn’t try it. Clearly, vodka isn’t my favorite otherwise I would have started a vodka blog. Majors does, however, have a pretty good beer selection. I decided to get the Delirium Tremens, which I noticed was on bottle.

I never had a full Delirium Tremens before. I’ve tasted it, but not enough to gather a full opinion. I decided to try it based on the good reviews I’ve heard. The beer pours light with a golden color and not much head. It smells like it tastes: light and fruity. There is a strong taste of citrus and it is a sweet beer. Overall it is smooth and refreshing. I enjoyed this beer to an extent, but I doubt it would be a ‘go-to’ beer. I prefer beer with a little more hop to it. Delirium Tremens had a strong sweet flavor up-front upon tasting, but not much finishing flavor, which I prefer. I would have it again, but not as my first choice.

Interestingly enough, while Googling ‘Delirium Tremens’, I found that not only is it a beer, but it refers to the delirium experienced in alcoholics due to withdrawal. Great name for a beer? Or is it making light of a disease that many people suffer from? I don’t care, I’m not here for morality. I just thought it was an interesting side-bit.

I didn’t intend to make this a Sublimely Self-Righteous vs. Delirium Tremens post, but in the battle between a dark and hoppy beer vs. a lighter and fruitier beer, the dark and hoppy wins! I found another beer I will make sure I always keep my eye out for when I’m at a bar or wanting to pick up a bottle for a get together.

Comments
  1. Michael DiSalvo says:

    Still loving the blog. Have you had the darker Delirium? Any thoughts on that?

Leave a Reply

