Tis the Season

Posted: September 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

The fall: my favorite time of year. The weather gets cooler, football is on all day Sunday, people prepare for Halloween and Thanksgiving, my birthday is coming up, and most importantly: the beer!

I’ve always said that the fall is the best season for beer. Both Oktoberfest and Pumpkin beers are prominent and I think that they are the best seasonal beers, especially since I consider the summer a dismal season for beer. I’m just not a fan of the light and citrus flavored beers found in the summer. I feel like most of them taste like lemon Pledge.  The fall, however, is the opposite. Rich and deep flavors take over the beer world. Pumpkin beers are my personal favorite. Nothing like sitting back on a cool fall evening and tasting the blend of spices that are brewed in a Pumpkin beer.

The first Pumpkin beer I had of the season was at the brand new Nicky’s Beer Garden BBQ in the Bronx. They had a Weyerbacher Imperial Pumpkin Ale on tap. I never had an Imperial Pumpkin ale before so I was immediately interested in trying this beer. It had the smell and taste of the typical pumpkin spices, but being an imperial, it packed an extra kick with about 8% abv. It was a great beer to have with my bbq ribs dinner and then later on while hanging out in the backyard beer garden.

I admit to not drinking many Oktoberfest beer this season, but that is because I’ve been very much into drinking the Pumpkin brews. This Friday I will be going to a Harvestfest party which will hopefully serve up some good Oktoberfest beer. I need to try as many of those as well since the beer seasons go by very quickly. The winter seasonals will be out before we know it and I will be longing for the tastes of the Fall.

Leave a Reply

